It’s All in a Day’s Work

Work, you say! But, you are not employed!

Being unemployed is work!

Looking for work is a full-time job!

In the last few months, I have:

  • Changed my resume to meet today’s accepted formats several times depending on the position and workshop.
  • Updated Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn pages.
  • Made friends with my cell phone…..email, text, voicemail.
  •  Found a career advisor.
  • Added my name to job lists both inside and outside of my industry.
  •  Added volunteer activities.
  •  Researched, researched, researched the job market.
  •  Continued to stay positive.
  •  Taken some online courses.
  • Increased my vocabulary through Words with Friends.
  •  Joined a job hunt support group.
  • Stepped out of my comfort zone and asked for help.
  •   Learned about blogs.
  • Learned to lunch with those who may know someone that knows someone.
  • Kept abreast of changes in my preferred organizations.
  • Received a Notary Public commission from the State of California.

Read A Lot of Books!

And

Realized I Could Make Due With Much Less!

Thankfully, there is nothing good on day-time television!

Who has time to watch it!!!

I have also sent out several resumes and, even, had a few interviews.

There is an upside to all of this!

As a result of not having a strict 9-5 schedule, I have made new friends, been able to greet my husband of over thirty years at the door each day, been a bigger part of children’s lives, attended grandparent’s days and awards ceremonies for granchildren and have been able to spend time with an aging parent.

We continue to search for employment.

We will send the resumes, update the profiles, find volunteer opportunities to keep us busy, do our best to keep our heads above water. When in doubt we head to a place where everyone knows our name (no, not the neighborhood bar) and realize that right now,

TODAY,,,,

There is time to stop and smell the flowers

!

posted by Michelle

Leave a comment